The Blog of Hanuman Dass



In the last year over 1000,000 people interacted with Enter your email to receive these blogs, special gifts, and much more, all directly from us.

Ramacharitmanas 53. The Three Types Of Devotee

Hanuman Dass Written by Hanuman Dass
Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on RedditPin on PinterestEmail this to someoneShare on StumbleUponShare on Tumblr

God is seen differently by each and everyone of us.  There is no way that my perception is exactly the same as yours, but there are general approaches to Religion which devotees have.  This was topic is described perfectly by Bhaktivinoba Thakur who describes the three spiritual seekers as Kamala shraddhas, madhyamadhikaris, and uttamadhikaris.*

The Kamala shraddhas are in the first stage of religious development, they seek only worldly gain, express simple faith, but have a beautiful purity of heart.  The second state, the madhyamadhikaris are although very strong intellectually are often plagued with doubt.  It is the Uttamadhikaris who are the rare ones.  The followers and embodiments of enlightenment are these uttamadhikaris 

Bhaktivinoda Thakur was interested in preaching spirituality. He encouraged the intellectual elites of West Bengal in the 19th Century to look beyond their minds, and enter into their hearts. *Shukavak N.Dasa has written wonderful book on his life titled ‘Hindu Encounter with Modernity‘.  Tulasidas emphasises the very same point here. Understandings and tendencies are different the world over, but the spiritual essence of all things is one.

53. There are three types of devotee, the first is a spiritual soul, interested in liberation, interested in seeing God within every being.  The second is the seeker who tries to rationalise everything, the third is the devotee who follows through blind faith. When spiritual souls congregate the world is transformed, blessings are showered in all directions, then the location of their gathering can be called Ayodhya.


Jai Shri Rama!

Hanuman Dass

Thursday, 16th July 2015

Ramacharitmanas 52. The Three Types of Devotee




Powered by Facebook Comments

comments powered by Disqus